cars submerged, Missouri Flooding
Photo by Chris Gallagher

The Missouri state Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) has issued a local disaster declaration for five northwest counties affected by recent Missouri flooding from the Missouri River system.

Marty Comstock is one of the state’s conservation engineers. He says: “The Emergency Watershed Program, the EWP, is USDA/NRCS’s recovery program from natural disasters when they occur. And that’s what we’ve got up in northwest Missouri in the Missouri River system, of course, with that flooding recently that’s still ongoing.”

Governor Mike Parson says he expects to request a federal disaster declaration next week. Parson says flooding damage assessments have been done or will soon be done in Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Holt, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Perry, Platte, Ray, Ste. Genevieve and Scott counties. Continuing high water levels are preventing damage assessments in Cape Girardeau and Pike counties. Gov. Parson says assessments will happen there as soon as possible.

Missouri Flooding Counties

The five eligible counties for Emergency Watershed Protection Program aid are Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Holt and Platte.

Comstock further states: “The five are what we intend to include as a local disaster… because there has not yet been a presidential declaration made for these counties in Missouri.”

Federal assistance is given for restoring certain levees, removal of log jams, sediment removal from drainage ditches and streambank stabilization.


Up Next

6 Time-Tested Ways to Purify Your Drinking Water

Regardless of its source, this list of gadgets and purification methods will keep your...